Members of the Association have not only excelled in the field of mountaineering and allied adventure activities, but have done exceedingly well in various other fields as well. It is because of the dedication and unstinted support of the members that the association is in its 41st year today. Some of the more prominent achievements of our members is listed below:

Scores of our members have successfully undergone basic and advanced courses in mountaineering conducted by the various mountaineering institutes at Darjeeling, Uttarkashi, and Manali.

Quite a few have also completed basic and intermediate courses in Skiing as well as the Method of Instruction course (MOI).

Six members, viz., Mr.S.K.Mehta, Mrs. Usha Ramaiah, Mrs Asha Sudhakar, Mrs M.V.Rajeshwari, Late Mr.B.G.Naganath, and Mr.S.Srivatsa were conferred with the Dasara awards for their achievements in the field of adventure. Mrs. Usha Ramaiah, who incidentally is our founder member was given the award twice, once for pursuing the sport and once for promoting the sport.

Mr.K.R.Lavaraju was given the ‘Rajyothsava’ award (Karnataka State award) in 1986 for his exploits in the field of mountaineering – the only mountaineer from the state to have been given the award.

Shri S.K.Mehta was the first Indian to climb Mt.Bhagirathi-II in the Garhwal Himalayas. This is without doubt a noteworthy achievement for the peak is rated to be technically difficult.

Over the years, several of our members were selected by the Indian Mountaineering Foundation to accompany foreign teams on expedition to the Himalayas, as liaison officers

A few were also invited by the leading mountaineering institutes to participate in their adventure and basic mountaineering courses as guest instructors

Nidhi Krishnan, Anitha and Shwetha Nirmal participated in the Republic Day parade in New Delhi during 2003. All three are good adventurers.

Mr.Mohan Rao and Mr.Prakash Hegde participated in the Karnataka State Masters Aquatic meet 2007 and won among them 11 medals (inclusive of 5 gold) in various categories/events. They were selected to represent the State in the nationals in Mumbai. Though they could not win a medal, their performance and placing have been creditable and noteworthy.

Mrs Asha Sudhakar was given the ‘KALASHA’ award by the Inner wheel club of Bangalore West in 2006 for her achievements in the field of trekking and Climbing

Mrs Vasumathi Srinivasan and Miss Smitha Srinivasan hold the Limca record for being the first mother, daughter duo to have climbed Mt. Kullu Pumori (21,500 ft), Himachal Pradesh in 1996.

Mr.Sudhakar, Mrs.Asha Sudhakar and Mr.K.R.Lavaraju participated in the Alpine Winter Camp, sponsored by the Indian Mountaineering Foundation and conducted by the Directorate of Mountaineering and Allied Sports, Manali.(HP)

Shri M.Srinivas is doing yeomen service in the Scouts and Guides movement as Executive Member of the Karnataka unit of the Bharat Scouts and Guide. He is a recipient of several awards, both individually and for his unit- including the ‘best open unit’, ‘Medal of merit ‘06’ etc. He has been instrumental in training boys and girls for the ‘Rashtrapathi medal

Mr.Sudheendra Yelahanka participated in the 2006 elephant census in the Chamarajnagar forest division.( Karnataka State). With his extremely good show, he has brought laurels to the association.

Mr.S.Srivatsa climbed Mt.ELBRUZ in the Pamir/caucusus range in Russia as part of the Indo Russian team. The expedition was coordinated by the Climbers and Explorers club of New Delhi and launched as part of the Indio Russian cultural exchange programme

Mrs Usha Ramaiah is the coordinator for the Bangalore unit of Sanctuary magazine’s ‘KIDS FOR TIGERS’ programme. She has been doing this noble work for the past 7 years, visiting schools, colleges etc. spreading the message of the need to conserve nature, especially the TIGER which is a threatened species. She regularly organizes audio visuals, talks, tiger fests, nature walk etc.

Mr.Mallikarjun, a keen wildlife photographer, won the I prize in the Photography salon 2007 held by the Karnataka Photographers association He also got the I prize in the wildlife section in the competition conducted by the Mysore Zoo. Recently, he was awarded the I prize again in the wildlife section in the competition conducted by the Magazine ‘BETTER PHOTOGRAPHY”

Mr.B.V.Prakash, an ardent adventurer, who regularly contributes write-ups/articles to various newspapers and magazines was awarded the ‘KEMPEGOWDA’ award in 2007 by the Government of Karnataka for achievements in the field of adventure.